ENGLAND Won The 2019 World Cup

ENGLAND Won The 2019 World Cup
Spread the love

England became only the 3rd team after India and Australia to succeed the World Cup on their home soil. 2011 World Cup won by India at the Wankhede Stadium whereas Australia lifted the Cup at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in 2015. Sri Lanka, the hostess of the 1996 World Cup, had won the title in Pakistan after defeating Australia. England completed a hat-trick for host countries winning the World Cup at Lord’s, on Sunday.

England ended a long wait. They reach the final of the World Cup for the first time since 1992. In 2015, they were knocked out of the group stages, in 2015. A few experts felt this was England’s best chance of winning the World Cup and the hosts did not get disappointed. England became the 6th team after India, West Indies, Australia, Sri Lanka, and Sri Lanka to win the World Cup.

Australia has won the World Cup for 5 times while India and West Indies have won the trophy twice each. Sri Lanka and Sri Lanka won the World Cup once each. This was the 4th time England was playing the World Cup final. They had lost to West Indies in 1975, Pakistan in 1992 and Australia in 1987. Speaking at the post-match presentation ceremony, Eoin Morgan, England captain said his team has developed a lot since 2015.

“This has been a 4-years of the journey. We have improved a lot over the years, specifically the last two. It is mean to us to get over the line. The players in the middle keep us cool, the way they play and the experience”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here