India’s Squad for the India vs. Australia ODI Series


India’s Squad for the India vs. Australia ODI Series:

Experienced off-spinner R Ashwin has staged a comeback to the Indian ODI team for the upcoming three-match series against Australia. He will be vying with Washington Sundar for a potential spot in the World Cup squad if Axar Patel fails to recover in time for the global event.

In an effort to ensure their key players are mentally refreshed for the World Cup starting on October 5, senior players like captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and spinner Kuldeep Yadav have been rested for the first two games against Australia. K L Rahul will lead the side in these initial matches before Rohit Sharma returns to captain a full-strength squad for the third and final ODI, which serves as a World Cup preparation game.

The selection of R Ashwin, who last played an ODI in January 2022, is seen as a contingency plan in case Axar Patel doesn’t recover from his quadriceps tear sustained during the Asia Cup. Chief selector Ajit Agarkar mentioned that both Ashwin and Washington Sundar are being considered as potential replacements if Axar is unable to regain fitness by the September 28 deadline set by the International Cricket Council.

Captain Rohit Sharma clarified that a proven performer like Ashwin can be brought into the team if needed.

Ashwin, who had been absent from the India ODI squad since the 2017 Champions Trophy, returned last year for the ODI series in South Africa but was subsequently sidelined again. Shreyas Iyer, who faced a back spasm and could only play two games in the Asia Cup, is also available for all three ODIs.

The first ODI is scheduled for September 22 in Mohali, the second in Indore on September 24, and the third in Rajkot on September 27. Following these matches, India will play two World Cup warm-up games against England and Netherlands on September 30 and October 3 in Guwahati and Trivandrum before their tournament opener against Australia in Chennai on October 8.

india's squad for the india vs. australia odi series
India’s Squad for the India vs. Australia ODI Series
Squad for the first two ODIs:

Captain: KL Rahul
Vice-Captain: Ravindra Jadeja

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Squad for the first two ODIs:

Captain: Rohit Sharma
Vice-Captain: Hardik Pandya
Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel (pending fitness confirmation), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohd. Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Also read: India Dismisses Canada’s Accusation Regarding Diplomat Expulsion


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Super hit combo called ‘Sankranti Kaluddam’..?

Victory Venkatesh and director Anil Ravipudi's upcoming film is...