Mumbai Indians win over Punjab Kings with 6-Wicket


Mumbai Indians chased down Punjab Kings’ mammoth total of 214 with ease, winning the match by six wickets at the IS Bindra PCA Stadium. Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav played pivotal roles in the successful chase with a 116-run partnership for the third wicket. Kishan scored a magnificent 75 runs while Suryakumar smashed 66 runs in a whirlwind inning, including a wide array of shots.

Tilak Varma and Tim David stepped up to the plate after Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav fell towards the end of the chase, and Mumbai Indians were able to complete the chase with seven balls remaining, thanks to the aggressive style of play adopted by Tilak Varma and Tim David.

Mumbai Indians opening over:

The opening over dealt a big blow to Mumbai as Rohit Sharma was dismissed for a three-ball duck by Rishi Dhawan. However, Ishan Kishan got the momentum going by hitting Arshdeep Singh for back-to-back fours. Suryakumar Yadav took charge from the other end with his pull, cuts, and sweep off Rahul Chahar. Ishan Kishan hits two big sixes off Rishi to propel Mumbai Indians towards victory.

In the last ball of the power-play, Nathan Ellis, who was brought in as an impact substitute for Prabhsimran Singh, managed to get a wicket as Cameron Green pulled the ball straight to deep mid-wicket. But Suryakumar kept on piling runs with his slicing shots over deep backward point and lofted drive over cover for two sixes. Suryakumar then executed some beautiful wristy shots to hit two fours, with the second one helping him reach his fifty in just 23 balls.

mumbai indians win over punjab kings with 6-wicket
Mumbai Indians win over Punjab Kings with 6-Wicket

mumbai indians won 213 on rajasthan royals in ipl 2023

Kishan hammered Arshdeep for a four and then smacked him high over deep mid-wicket for six. Kishan reached his fifty in 29 balls after hitting Chahar for a flat-batted four. Suryakumar, his partner, continued to exhibit his exceptional hitting skills by hitting Ellis over point and flicking Arshdeep for two consecutive fours.

Suryakumar’s mistimed cut to short third man off Ellis and Kishan’s catch at deep fine leg by Arshdeep were met with roars from the Mohali crowd.

Varma maintained the momentum by hitting Arshdeep for a six, following it up with a scoop shot for four, and finishing off with another six over deep mid-wicket. David contributed with a crafty dab off Curran for a four and a slice off Arshdeep for the same outcome. Finally, Tilak sealed the victory in style by hitting a massive straight six down the ground.

Also, read IPL 2023: Delhi Capitals beat Gujarat Titans by 5 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

MP Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy Resigns from YSRCP

YSRCP MP Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy has shocked many by...