Thursday, December 1, 2022
HomeSportsSLPL 2021-22: Mathews named captain of Colombo Kings; Rajput head coach of...

SLPL 2021-22: Mathews named captain of Colombo Kings; Rajput head coach of Kandy Warriors

Former Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews has been named as captain of the Colombo Stars while coach Lalchand Rajput was appointed head coach of Kandy Warriors for the upcoming season of Lanka Premier League, slated to begin on December 5.

The experience of Mathews, who has played 168 T20s in his career, will be vital for the Kings’ success in the upcoming season. Sri Lankan first-class cricketer Ruvin Peiris has been named as Rajput’s deputy. The Warriors have appointed former India fast bowler Atul Wassan as their Director of Cricket.

As the start of the event draws closer, each of the five franchises — Colombo Stars, Dambulla Giants, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Kings and Kandy Warriors — have been making some crucial appointments.

The Jaffna Kings have signed upcoming T20 star Praveen Jayawickrama for the upcoming season. The left-arm orthodox bowler has taken 12 wickets in 15 matches at an average of 19.41 in his T20 career so far. Jayawickrama will have the opportunity to bowl alongside ICC T20 World Number 1 Wanindu Hasaranga in the Jaffna Kings set-up as well.

The Kandy Warriors have signed talented wicketkeeper batter Minod Bhanuka, while experienced Wicketkeeper batter Kusal Perera has joined the Colombo Stars.

Anil Mohan, Founder and CEO of Dubai-based production giant IPG, the official promoter of LPL, commented, “We are just a few days away from the Lanka Premier League and we are delighted to see the franchises settling their squad and the support staff team members. We are eagerly looking forward to a great contest and hope that the upcoming season is even better than the last one.”

- Advertisment -

Most Popular