Rohit Sharma Leads the Way: ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year


Rohit Sharma was chosen as the captain of the ICC Men’s ODI team of the year, which was announced on Tuesday. Alongside Rohit, five other Indian players made it to the team: Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Mohammad Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammad Shami. The ICC Men’s T20I team of the year includes Travis Head (Australia), Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand), Heinrich Klaasen (wicketkeeper) (South Africa), Marco Jansen (South Africa), and Adam Zampa (Australia).

Rohit had an outstanding year in 2023, scoring 1255 runs at an average of 52 in ODIs. He performed exceptionally well in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, with his remarkable innings of 131 against Afghanistan being a highlight. Shubman Gill became Rohit’s preferred opening partner in 2023, hitting a fantastic 208 against New Zealand and finishing the year as the leading run-scorer with 1584 runs.

Virat Kohli had another consistent year in 2023, accumulating 1377 runs, and won the Player of the Tournament award in the World Cup. Mohammad Siraj impressed with 44 wickets, including a standout performance in the Asia Cup final with career-best figures of 6/21. Kuldeep Yadav topped the world in wickets with 49 in 2023, including a notable 5/25 against Pakistan in the Asia Cup Super Four stage.

Overall, these players showcased remarkable performances throughout the year, earning them a spot in the prestigious ICC teams.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Stock Market: Sensex and Nifty Scale New Peaks on Positive GDP Figures

The Indian benchmark equity indices, Sensex and Nifty, surged...

Women’s Cricket: BCCI Red-Ball Tournament Begins in March

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)...