South Africa announce unchanged Test squad for 3rd and 4th Test

South Africa announce unchanged Test squad for 3rd and 4th Test
Spread the love
South Africa have retained the same squad that lost by 189 runs to England in Cape Town for the remainder of the four-match series. However, only the starting XI from that match along with Dane Paterson will initially head to Port Elizabeth, the venue for the next Test, with the rest of the members fulfilling domestic duties.
South Africa had won the first Test in Centurion before the Newlands reversal, losing Aiden Markram to injury between those Tests, with Pieter Malan slotting in as the replacement and doing well on debut.
The series is now locked at 1-1 with the next Test starting from January 16, which overlaps with the final day of the next round in their domestic four-day competition, making it very likely that the hosts will go in with the same team barring injury.
South Africa Test squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Rassie van der Dussen, Pieter Malan, Zubayr Hamza, Anrich Nortje, Dane Paterson, Vernon Philander, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Temba Bavuma, Andile Phehlukwayo, Beuran Hendricks, Rudi Second.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here