New Zonal System For Telangana Finally Approved

telangana new zonal system

The new zonal system proposed by the Telangana government got approved by the centre on Thursday. Ramanth Kovind, the President of India, gave his assent to the new zones for the state that aims to provide better employment opportunities to the people. The proposal was officially approved by way of a notification in the Gazette by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Telangana Cabinet approval for new zonal system

During his recent visit to New Delhi, the state Chief Minister K Chandasekhar Rao had discussed about the system with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who cleared it with his positive response. Rao had proposed seven zones and two multi-zones for the state which the cabinet approved in the month of May this year. The new zonal system was entailed as there were only two zones in Telangana region in the state of Andhra Pradesh and also because there was a need of new zones after the state’s formation.  Moreover, it was necessitated in the wake of creation of 31 districts.The new zonal system is to replace, in a day or two, the old zonal system, which was introduced 43 years ago in the united Andhra Pradesh. It entitles 95% of reservations to the locals of the state in government jobs and rest 5% to the non-locals. The zones will be given reservations for all posts except for posts at Secretariat levels, Head of the department and offices set up for a special purpose.

two multi-zones

As per the official notification, the new system will have seven zones which include Kaleshwaram (zone I), Basara (zone II), Rajanna (zone III) Bhadradri (zone IV), Yadadri (zone V), Charminar (zone VI) and Jogulamba (zone VI) and two multi-zones. Employees would be allowed transfer within some posts of multi-zones.The first four zones are considered as one multi-zone whereas the last three are covered under another multi-zone.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here