Telangana CM Casts Vote in Legislative Council By-Election


Telangana CM A. Revanth Reddy exercised his voting rights in the by-election for the Telangana Legislative Council in Mahabubnagar’s local authorities’ constituency.

As an ex-officio member representing Kodangal, Revanth Reddy voted in his home constituency, joining other representatives from local bodies at 10 polling stations in the former Mahabubnagar district.

With polling stations open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., a total of 1,439 eligible voters, including municipal councilors, MPTCs, ZPTCs, and ex-officio members, participated in the process.

The by-election features a direct contest between Manney Jeevan Reddy of the ruling Congress and N. Naveen Kumar Reddy from the main opposition Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), alongside Independent candidate Sudershan Goud.

Ahead of the election, concerns about potential defections led the Congress and the BRS to relocate their elected representatives to states like Karnataka, Kerala, and Goa, only for them to return on Wednesday.

While the BRS holds a substantial majority in local bodies following the 2019 elections, cross-voting remains a concern in this crucial by-election, crucial for both parties before the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

The by-election was prompted by the resignation of Kasireddy Narayan Reddy from the BRS, who later contested and won as a Congress candidate in the Kalwakurthy Assembly constituency.

The Congress’s dominance in the former Mahabubnagar district, where it secured victory in 12 out of 14 Assembly seats, adds to the significance of this by-election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Zomato Faces GST Demand: Regulatory Challenges Ahead

Zomato, the prominent online food delivery platform, faces a...

Dangerous Game: Indian Student’s Suicide Raises Alarm About ‘Blue Whale Challenge

In a tragic incident that has sent shockwaves, a...